clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Stanford Wins 2014-2015 Division I Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup

Stanford Wins 21st straight Division I Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Stanford University has secured the 2014-2015 Division I Learfield Sports Directors' Cup. The Cup is awarded to the Athletic department with the most points in the nation. Points are awarded based on the finish of 10 women's sports and 10 men's sports. UCLA finished (unofficially) second, USC third, North Carolina 4th, and Florida rounded out the top 5.

National Championships in women's golf, women's water polo and women's lightweight rowing helped propel the Cardinal to the top of the national standings in 2015. Technically the final results have not been made official, but Stanford's lead is so substantial that the award was given on June 16th with Stanford Athletic Director Bernard Muir accepting the award.

Even more impressively, is that this extends Stanford's winning streak to 21 straight years of Director's Cup victories. President Clinton was still in his first term the last time Stanford did not win the Cup. More than a few current Stanford Students were not even born yet.

One huge reason for Stanford's dominance in the Directors' cup is that the university has won at least one national championship every year for the past 39 years. To put that into context, most of the people reading this have never experienced a season in their lifetime in which the Cardinal did not win a national championship in at least one sport.