clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Paulson Adebo named to preseason Bednarik Award Watch List

Adebo is the lone Stanford player on the prestigious list

Stanford v USC

The 2020 Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List has officially been announced, and you don’t have to look far on the alphabetized list to see the Stanford Cardinal represented.

Paulson Adebo graces the list for the prestigious award, given annually to the nation’s best overall defensive player.

Announced by Director of College Awards at the Maxwell Football Club Rich Cirminiello, Adebo makes the list with just about every other top college defensive player that is (still) scheduled to hit the fields this season.

The Bednarik Award is given annually since 1995 and is presented by the Maxwell Football Club. It is named after Chuck Bednarik and the voting panel is made up of members of the Maxwell Football Club, sportswriters, sportscasters and NCAA head college football coaches across the nation.

Chase Young from Ohio State won the award last year and the last defensive back to take home the honor was Minkah Fitzpatrick from Alabama in 2017. In total, only four defensive backs have taken home the award since 1995.

Adebo returns to the Cardinal after being projected as a likely first- or second-round draft pick back for the 2019 NFL Draft but struggling in his junior season last year. His high-level play is about the best in the country so it’s no surprise to see him represented on this list.