clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dalman, Little named to Outland Trophy watch list

The duo are on the short list for the nation’s top interior lineman award

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: SEP 07 Stanford at USC Photo by Jordon Kelly/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The preseason honors continue to pour in for the Stanford Cardinal as offensive linemen Drew Dalman and Walker Little were named to the Outland Trophy watch list, the annual award that honors the nation’s top interior lineman.

Won by Oregon’s Penei Sewell last year, Little has made his appearances on the Outland Trophy before while Dalman himself should also find himself in the talks for the Rimington Award as well, as that honors the nation’s top center.

The Outland Trophy is named after John H. Outland, who was one of the first and only players to be selected as an All-American at two positions. It’s a member of the National College Football Awards Association and has been handed out to the nation’s top interior lineman since 1946.

Stanford’s first, and only, winner of the trophy was Joshua Garnett back in 2015 while Nebraska currently leads all schools with nine winners in their illustrious career. Sewell became just the seventh winner from the Pac-12 as the awards have been dominated by the Big Ten and SEC over its history.

The Outland Trophy will be awarded during the Home Depot College Football Awards show later this year.

Congratulations to Walker & Drew! Go Card!