clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Stanford sends three players to the Wuerffel Trophy watch list

Connor Wedington, Isaiah Sanders and Treyjohn Butler all land on the nation’s top community servant award list

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: OCT 17 UCLA at Stanford Photo by Cody Glenn/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The Stanford Cardinal have sent three players to one of the nation’s most sought after awards in college football. Connor Wedington, Isaiah Sanders and Treyjohn Butler were each named to the Wuerffel Trophy watch list, which honors the nation’s top community service in college football.

The trio of Cardinal players were on the list with 114 student-athletes from the FBS level, a record number of watch list members since the award was founded in 2005.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented each February in Fort Walton Beach. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback from the University of Florida, Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society, and inspire greater service in the world.

“It is so inspiring to see this record number of athletes being submitted for the award,” said Wuerffel. “These young men truly represent college football’s most impactful community service leaders. We are proud to honor them.”

Founded in 2005 and honoring former Gators QB Danny Wuerffel, only one Pac-12 player has won the award previously as USC’s Matt Barkley won the trophy in 2012. It’s presented by Chick-fil-A Foundation and will be awarded during the 52nd All Sports Association Awards Banquet on February 19, 2021 in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.

Congratulations you three! Just being on the watch list is an honor itself.