clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jeanette Pohlen Named Pac-10 Player of the Year

It should come as no surprise that after sweeping through the Pac-10 regular season, the No. 2 Stanford women's basketball was well represented on the list of all-conference award winners announced today. Jeanette Pohlen, who averages 15.8 points and 4.8 assists per game, was named the Pac-10 Player of the Year, and is the ninth different Cardinal player to win the honor. Fellow seniors Nneka Ogwumike and Kayla Pedersen joined Pohlen on the All-Pac-10 First Team.

Chiney Ogwumike was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and Tara VanDerveer was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year for the 11th time in her 25 seasons on the Farm.

As for the men's awards, Jeremy Green was named to the All-Pac-10 First Team and Anthony Brown and Dwight Powell were named to the All-Freshman Team. Josh Owens earned honorable mention All-Pac-10 honors.

Both Cardinal teams head to Los Angeles for the Pac-10 tournament. The women receive a double-bye into the semifinals and will play at 12 p.m. on Friday. The men, the No. 8 seed in the tournament, play No. 9 seed Oregon State tomorrow at 6 p.m. The winner will advance to play No. 1 seed Arizona on Thursday at 2:30 p.m.